top of page

Pretty Vacant : Up Close with one Sex Pistol


Featuring at least 3 Sex Pistols songs (Let's face it there weren't all that many on the one real album they put out) which included a singalong of Pretty Vacant as an encore. Other songs done included some blues songs I didn't recognize and this old masterpiece ....

A rather attractive redhead working the front of house complimented me on the Lou Reed T Shirt I was wearing

and held my hand a bit longer than was strictly necessary as she stamped the back of my wrist with the get in and out of the gig stamp. Still too shy and ineloquent (Is that a real word?) to do much other than pay back the compliment about the Cold Chisel T shirt she was wearing. Maybe one of these days I'll manage to follow through and start up a proper conversation with a good looking female of the species.

And then to cap off the evening on the train going home after midnight about 5 young pretty Romanian exchange students and their two male friends who I shared my carriage with treated me to some impromptu singing and synchronized dancing whilst taking videos on their iPhones between Central and Kings Cross railways stations. One of them introduced herself and high fived me a couple of times apoligizing for being so rowdy and introducing me to the love of her life and he best friend and getting them all to say something to me in Spanish when I told her I was originally from Argentina. Nice to see people enjoying themselves on a night out and having a great time that they shared with me.

If anyone can catch up with Mr. Matlock on the rest of his Oz tour a splendid time is guaranteed for all.

Now if only one of the Clash would come down to the land of Oz and do a gig in a small venue sometime in the near future

PS Unfortunately no spare cash this week to purchase the merchandise he was flogging at the end of the concert. Also had to do an early shift at work the next day and it was after Midnight by then. I wonder if Jase McPherson bought some?

bottom of page