top of page

Orphanage Planet

Since my father's passing over two weeks ago now I've had at least two people ask me if now that both my parents are gone did I feel like an orphan.

To be honest that thought never entered my mind.

As far as I'm concerned every single one of us on this planet is an orphan. Sure you can have physical, biological parents and siblings but deep down inside every one of us is ultimately alone.

JG Ballard the SF writer once wrote that the only alien planet is earth. It's like the human race doesn't actually belong here. We're just parasites on this planet using up vital resources and doing our best to ruin it as quickly as possible not to mention killing one another in the name of whatever the hell people want to kill each other when there's no real reason behind it except maybe lack of living space, food and our own paranoid xenophobia.

Sorry I seem to have wandered a bit from my original intention when I started to write this.

We are all alone. Some of us manage to find a life partner somewhere along the way to keep us company and stave of the fear of loneliness and disconnection from the rest of the human race but ultimately we are each of us trapped in our own private hell of our own making. Very rarely someone of the stature of say Jesus or Buddha or Mohammed come along and explain how to cope with reality and exist without having to bow down to other individuals who for some unknown reason want to impose their own values on us and force us to do or believe what the want us to do or believe. And then after they're gone people who followed them while they were around reinterpret their original ideas and try to tell us what J B or D really meant and if we don't agree with them then we're not in that club and are excluded from all the wonderful things that religion now entitles us to which we could not possibly ever manage to do on our own by ourselves. If you don't follow what I preach or tell you than damn you to hell or even better we will make hell on earth for you because you don't agree with what we preach.

Just remember folks in the words of St. John of the Guitar

Nothing is real

Requiescat In Pace

mon Pere

and to quote the very late Brian Cohen

You don't need to follow me.

You don't need to follow anybody.

You're all individuals.

You've got to work it out for yourselves.

bottom of page